Australian Power Quality & Reliability Centre

Established 1996

APQRC People

Download an APQRC brochure.

Management Advisory Committee

Academic & Research Staff

Visiting Professorial Fellows

Administrative Staff

Research Students

Lasantha Meegahapola Photo

Dr Lasantha Meegahapola


School of Electrical, Computer and Telecommunications Engineering

Tel: +61 2 4221 3408

Fax: +61 2 4221 3236



Dr. Lasantha Meegahapola received his BSc. Eng. degree in Electrical Engineering (First Class) from the University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka in 2006, and his PhD degree from Queen's University of Belfast, UK in 2010. His doctoral study was based on the investigation of power system stability issues with high wind penetration, and research was conducted in collaboration with EirGrid (Republic of Ireland-TSO). In addition, he conducted extensive research studies on coordinated reactive power dispatch during steady-state and dynamic/transient conditions for networks with high wind penetration. He also holds a professional qualification in management accounting from the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants UK (CIMA passed finalist). He was a visiting researcher in the Electricity Research Centre, University College Dublin, Ireland (2009/2010). Currently he is employed as a lecturer at the University of Wollongong. He is a member of IEEE and IEEE Power Engineering Society (PES).

Research Interests

  • Renewable power generation
  • Power system stability
  • Active distribution networks and reactive power control
  • Intelligent approaches in power systems
Last modified: 28 March 2014 Webmaster
Copyright © 2001-2014. University of Wollongong.